We are a group of local Christians who believe that God has called us to worship him here in the community at Totteridge.  As a Baptist church, we believe that baptism is an important symbol of the new life and forgiveness we experience every day in Christ.

We are part of a network of churches with similar beliefs and aims.  Each Baptist church is self-funded and self-governing, with an emphasis on the local community in which they serve.  This means we don’t have a rigid hierarchy, but we do belong to a wider fellowship of Christians both nationally and internationally.

We’re affiliated to the Baptist Union of Great Britain (BUGB), and are are part of the Central Baptist Association, which is one of the thirteen BUGB regional associations giving support at a more local level.

Our current leadership team:

Peter Montague – Pastor

Peter was called to the role of pastor in January 2018 having previously served as an elder at Union Baptist Church, High Wycombe. Peter is married to Wendy and they have three grown up sons James, Stephen and Philip.

peter and wendyPrior to the call to Totteridge, Peter worked in the paper Industry for 40 years.  Loving the outdoors, Peter can often be found on long walks and bicycle rides in the Chilterns countryside as well as in the stands at Adams Park.

Peter is passionate to see the local church express the love of Jesus in its locality and be a place where community meets.

Brenda O’Brien – Treasurer

Brenda has been a member of Totteridge Baptist Church for 50 years. She is married to Peter (not Pastor Peter) and they have two forty-something daughters, Kathryn and Rebecca. Brenda was born and brought up in Wycombe and although she had several moves away when she was younger Wycombe remains home.

Brenda had a long career/vocation in primary school teaching. She and her husband are keen travellers, trying to see as much of the world as they can while they can! They, too, are season ticket holders at Adams Park, supporting the mighty Blues.

Brenda is passionate about world mission –starting but not ending in Totteridge. She is mission coordinator for the church and loves to encourage mission interest and support.

Helen Rendell – Secretary

Helen is originally from Liverpool, and moved south too many years ago.  She is married to Nigel and has two daughters.  She doesn’t support a particular football team, but tracks where  Liverpool, Everton and Wycombe are in the leagues each week.

Helen works in IT, and as well as acting as secretary also looks after the church computers and sound desk.  At Totteridge, she is keen to enable other people to serve God in the way that is most natural to them.

When not at Totteridge, she really enjoys the theatre, concerts or the cinema and spends a lot of spare time doing puzzles.

Our other deacons are Graham Bunsell, John Dyer, Gavin Gibson and Kim Payne